Sectionals: All-Tournament teams for each class


Share this:

In a similar exercise to what I did last season, I reached out to the coaches from all of the team’s who made it to the semifinals or further in their respective classes and asked them for nominations. Based on the opinions of those coaches and my own observations, I came up with All-Tournament teams for each class (combining Classes B and C). These teams are made up of the players who came up big when it mattered most, with no consideration given to regular season performance. Just to note, I took some liberties with positions to get the most deserving guys mentioned.

GK – Steven Hegner, North Rockland
F – Joseph Iraola, Mahopac
F – Jeff Greblick, Arlington
MF – Will Lopez, North Rockland
MF – Justin Dorazio, Carmel
MF – Evan Hendel, Scarsdale
MF – Jake Goldberg, Horace Greeley
D – Rafael Aguilar, North Rockland
D – Jason Henderson, Scarsdale
D – Josh Kriss, Mamaroneck
D – Collin Illiano, Arlington

Honorable mention: Mike Bernardi, Mahopac; David Kalaj, Mahopac; Blake Kozloski, John Jay-East Fishkill; Austin Mayhew, Carmel; Ryan Miller, Arlington.

GK – Jose Gonzalez, Port Chester
F – Steven Hernandez, Port Chester
F – Jon Berry, Byram Hills
F – Aidan Murray, Pelham
MF – Wendy Jean, Nyack
MF – Gonzalo Prando, Lakeland
MF – Harold Ayree, Somers
MF – Kei Matsumoto, Keio
D – Sam Ganeles, Byram Hills
D – Andrew Mitgang, Lakeland
D – Alexis Valdovinos, Port Chester

Honorable mention: Joshua Beinhacker, Byram Hills; Chris Cruz, Yonkers; Nick Fecci, Somers; Charlie Livingston, Pelham; William Ribiero, Port Chester.

Class B/C
GK – Ben Seguljic, Blind Brook
F – Joe DiBerardino, Blind Brook
F – Tom Cole, North Salem
F – Tom Young, Edgemont
MF – Ari Leffell, Solomon Schechter
MF – Kevin Zajc, North Salem
MF – Joe Lovecchio, Valhalla
MF – David Villalobos, Edgemont
D – Zach Streichler, Blind Brook
D – Nicholas Oliveira, Valhalla
D – Arthur Kaufman, Briarcliff

Honorable mention: Ross Elmaleh, Blind Brook; John Enkler, Lourdes; Michael Franklin, Solomon Schechter; Karl Jamiolkowski, Albertus Magnus; James Rubino, Haldane.

Photo by Tania Savayan/The Journal News

Share this:

About Author

VINCENT Z. MERCOGLIANO has been with The Journal News and since March 2010. He graduated from New Rochelle High School in 2005 and from Hofstra University in 2009 with a degree in broadcast journalism. He currently covers boys soccer, wrestling and baseball, while assisting with LoHud's Yankees coverage.

Comments are closed.